SXSW Music Festival 2022 announces first series of featured artists including Kristin Hersh, Ringo Deathstarr and Delta Spirit



SXSW Music Festival 2022 announces first series of featured artists including Kristin Hersh, Ringo Deathstarr and Delta Spirit
Photo credit: Raymond Flotat

It’s October and that means SXSW is announcing its first wave of invited artists to perform at the upcoming SXSW 2022. True to its tradition, the music festival first announces promising artists / bands and more well-known artists. The 2022 edition of the festival will take place March 14-20, 2022 in Austin, TX. It will be in person after being canceled in 2020 due to the pandemic, and online this year, also due to the pandemic.

In 2020, the lineup included Throwing Muse’s Kristin Hersh, but as that didn’t happen, the singer is scheduled for the next race again. It will be a solo performance. Wren’s Kevin Whelan will also be performing with his new project, Aeon Station. Up-and-coming rapper Maxo Kream of Houston, TX won’t have it too much of his home when he takes to the stage in Austin, which is also the hometown of indie rock band Ringo Deathstarr. Chicago showgaze group Horsegirl and indie rock pioneer Ezra Furman will represent the Windy City during the festival. This year, the first artist series includes 243 artists and groups.

Once again, SXSW shows how to put together programming that features just about every genre imaginable, from countries around the world, like space-rock artist Alien Tango from Spain, R&B singer-songwriter Danielle Ponder from Rochester NY, indie-pop trio Estereomance from the border region of El Paso, TX, German dream-pop group Roller Derby, Kenyan rapper Mc Yallah, Wargasm the English electro-rock duo, country group 49 Winchester, hiphop trio Kansas City experimental BLACKSTARKIDS, post-punk band Desperate Journalist, MENZI DJ and producer from South Africa, Austro-American singer-songwriter James Hersey, indie-rock band The Red Pears, alt-electronic duo HAEPAARY from South Korea, hip-hop artist Don Lifted, Berlin noise-rock group Gewalt, indie project Luna Luna, Brazilian duo ANAVITÓRIA, synth-pop group Couch Prints, DIY-punk Teenage Halloween, R&B singer Kiana V des Philippines, Surfbo punk-rock quartet rt, Zambian rock band WITCH (We Intend To Cause Havoc), genre -being South Korean hip-hop duo Y2K92, power-pop group Blunt Bangs, sister duo REYNA, son of Lars Ulrich Taipei’s band Houston, the French rock trio Pays P., Mark Burgess leader of the punk group The Chameleons, the indie project PYNKIE and the art-rock group HMLTD.

Like 2020, this year also features a healthy dose of Austin artists, highlighted throughout the event, including country artist Buffalo Nichols, glam-punk band Lord Friday the 13th, author- singer-songwriter Rett Smith, alternative project Why Bonnie, alt-country group Greyhounds, hip-hop artist J Soulja, indie rocker Alex Dupree, Graham Reynolds solo and Graham Reynolds & The Golden Arm Trio, indie artist Katy Kirby, folk group- revival Little Mazarn, punk-rock group A Giant Dog, pop-trio sister Tiarra Girls, indie-rock project Go Fever, glamorous rock and roll artist Caleb De Casper, punk group Big Bill, singer-songwriter Angélica Rahe, goth / industrial artist Curse Mackey, dream-pop group Letting Up Despite Great Faults, Stephanie Hunt nickname, Buffalo Hunt, American singer James McMurtry, indie band Mobley, R & B / soul project Sir Woman, soul-rock singer Chief Cleopatra, the pop-rock group Bei ng Dead. Others include, Nuevo, Blushing, PASTEL GHOST, Star Parks, Tomar and the FCs, Kevin Galloway, Adam Ostrar, Sun June and The Deer.

But this year also many other artists all from the lonely state of Texas. This includes Latin jazz group Henry Brun & the Latin Playerz, emo-ambient musician Claire Rousay, songwriter Jacks Haupt, indie-pop group Skirts, American artist RF Shannon, post-punk band Rosegarden. Funeral Party, Mariangela, Sara King, Tele Novella and Twin Tribes darkwave outfit. The Texas lineup also offers a lot to rap and hiphop fans, with artists like Guapo, Plato III, HOODLUM, Doeman and Monaleo.

Other artists include, 2nd Grade, Abigail Lapell, Aertex, Andrea Cruz, Antti Paalanen, Arp Frique, Art d’Ecco, Authentically Plastic, Ava Vegas, Babehoven, Bandicoot, Beauty Sleep, Bendigo Fletcher, Bodywash, Boulevards, Bread Pilot , Breanna Barbara, Brigid Mae Power, Buzzard Buzzard Buzzard, CHAII, Charlotte Cornfield, China Bears, Claud, COBRAH, Coco & Clair Clair, Congee, Constant Follower, corook, Creamer, Cuffed Up, Dan Bettridge, DEETRANADA, Devin Shaffer, Diamante Perez, Dig Nitty, DJ DIAKI, Donna Blue, DUMA, Ed Schrader’s Music Beat, Elephant Stone, Eli Winter, Pleasant listening, Enumclaw, Evicshen, Family Jools, Fearing, Flossing, Flower, Geese, GIFT, Glass Spells, Goodbye Honolulu , Goya Gumbani, Grace Cummings and Her Band, GRAE, Gully Boys, Gustaf, Hamish Hawk, Haru Nemuri, Holly Macve, Hrishikesh Hirway, India Ramey, Jay Aston’s Gene Loves Jezebel / Acoustic, JayWood, Jekyll, Jo Schornikow, Jockstrap, JOPLYN , Joshua Hedley, Junaco, KABEAUSHÉ, KAINA, Kampire, Katy JP earson, KAWALA, Kompas Trio, Korine, Kristeen Young, Kyle Kidd, Laura Lee & the Jettes, Lauren Auder, Lee Bains + The Glory Fires, Linqua Franqa, Living Hour, Logan Lynn, Lucy Gooch, Lunar Vacation, Mace The Great, MAITA, Mandy, Indiana, Maria BC, Marina Allen, Marta Del Grandi, Mattiel, Me Rex, Meatraffle, Mister Goblin, Moon Panda, Moriah Bailey, My Idea, Native Sun, Neighbor Lady, NewDad, Nuha Ruby Ra, Number One Popstar , ONO, Ouri, Pachyman, PACKS, Paisley Fields, Paul Jacobs, Penelope Isles, Phobophobes, Polyplastic, Pom Poko, Poppy Ajudha, Portrait XO, Priya Ragu, Renée Reed, Riley Downing, Roan Yellowthorn, Ruby, Ryder The Eagle, Salt Cathedral, Sarah Kinsley, Sarpa Salpa, Savak, Shawn James, Silver Synthetic, Smut, Sonoda, Sour Widows, Stella Sommer, Strawberry Guy, Tagua Tagua, Tallies, TEKE :: TEKE, Tempers, THALA, Thallo, The Americans, The Bad Man, The Chris Lee Band, The Pink Stones, The Royston Club, Thee Sacred Souls, Tino Drima, Tunique, Vic Santoro, Vitreous Humor, Walt Disco, WANDERERS, WARFIELD, Water From Your Eyes, Wombo, XIXA and Yard Act.

SXSW remains international this year!

photo credit: Raymond Flotat



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.